california bander

Help Support CattleToday:

jbar

Reaction score
anyone use this bander for bigger bulls.i am going to try one. i have ten bulls from #375-#600 to band most of the time i use the knife but the guy thats loaning me the bander sayes this is less stressful.i am going to give shot when i band. any advice on what shots.

Yes, I used it this fall on some 600 lb bulls. It is not a good thing to look at after about two weeks. I do not intend to let my calves get that big again and use the knife at birth or at about two weeks old.
Stretch the band until it is about 1/3 the orginal size or less before clipping it. The only thing good about it you can do the job yourself and do not need help.

I've used it twice on some 500 lb bulls. Both came out OK. Real easy to use.

Hillrancher's right. They ain't pretty to look at for a while.

I have been using another type of bander for a few years, i have not saw the California bander so don't no any thing about it. But i have not had any problems at all with mine. You should give a tetnus shot when you band. with mine i run them back threw the chute in about a week and cut the dead sack off. Its a little ripe sometimes. but works really good.

hillrancher":2tsezh8w said:
Yes, I used it this fall on some 600 lb bulls. It is not a good thing to look at after about two weeks. I do not intend to let my calves get that big again and use the knife at birth or at about two weeks old.
Stretch the band until it is about 1/3 the orginal size or less before clipping it. The only thing good about it you can do the job yourself and do not need help.

I had some 5-6 wts. cut and it wasn't good to look at for 3-4 weeks. Is banding worse?

gabby":2nnm1062 said:
hillrancher":2nnm1062 said:

I had some 5-6 wts. cut and it wasn't good to look at for 3-4 weeks. Is banding worse?

I think it is.

J