Calf Weaning

Help Support CattleToday:

txlonghorn

Reaction score
I have 4 longhorn calves born in March/April timeframe. I currently have them with mom at larger ranch and want to bring them down to my home place for my wife to make pets of them. What is the earliest age a calf can be weaned. I am new to the cattle raising business and don't want to wean them too young, however, don't want to wait too long and they get to big to get close to.

I wean at about 6 months at the earliest. The past 3 years I pick 3 calves from the group and halter break them. The earlier you bring them home the sooner you have to feed them on your own. I would let mom and pasture foot the feed bill. Have your wife go out to see the calves with the moms. When it gets close to weaning time I take a bucket of sweet mix, grain, pellets, whatever, and go sit in the pasture. The calves are curious and will come up to ya. Throw a little treat to 'em, and after a few days they are eating out of your hand.

txlonghorn":2wsxzqap said:
I have 4 longhorn calves born in March/April timeframe. I currently have them with mom at larger ranch and want to bring them down to my home place for my wife to make pets of them. What is the earliest age a calf can be weaned. I am new to the cattle raising business and don't want to wean them too young, however, don't want to wait too long and they get to big to get close to.

I just weaned one off for someone who wanted a 4-H calf. 3 1/2 months old. If they will eat feed you can wean them. Took me three days and three different feeds to get her going on her own. I don't like to do it that early but they wanted her bad. I usually do nothing earlier than 5 months but have for various reasons before.

Dee had some decent advice.

We wean ours at about 205 days. Mama can feed them better and cheaper than we can + they are also eating grass, etc., to supplement milk from a couple of weeks of age and on.