Calf Scours-Need Help ASAP

Help Support CattleToday:

mmayer71

Reaction score
HI, I'm pretty new at this. Hopeing someone has some good advice for me. I just bought a one month old calf today. And noticed when we got him home that he has very watery diarrhea, it's not bloody just kinda of stinky. Not sure if he has scours or if the he's just stressed from the transportation to his new home. I did give him a bottle and he drank it fine. Not sure if I should start treating for scours or if this is normal stress related issues. All of the research I've done on the subject doesn't state the age they grow out of scours. He has been on mama for the entire month of his life, but he was a twin and mama wasn't making enough milk for both so he was kinda pushed out being a bull calf, the person we got him from was more concerned with the twin sister getting fed the most. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Scours is typically a bright yellow. Much brighter than mustard.

High protein feed is going to give the lose stool (runny) appearance. If he has been feasting on rescue grass, rye, etc, he is just norm. A month old will be cutting grass enough to be this way. Stress from moving will also cause this normally. If it is not yellow, I wouldn't be that concerned, but I would keep an eye on him.

He was a twin to a heifer. The heifer is known as a free martin and has HUGE chance of being sterile. The previous owner should already be thinking about eventually putting her on a feed regiment for slaughter. I would not take a chance on her as a breeder.

There are lots of discussions in the threads on this forum dealing with scours. It is discussed in depth frequently. Mostly in the Beginners Forum.