Butchering Steers

Help Support CattleToday:

wvherefords

Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to cattle. I have about 13 head of herefords that I got started in about a year ago. I'm currently feeding out 3 steers. Should be done by early January. I've got a bunch of family and friends who have committed to buying 1/2 steer each. I've never gone through the process of taking them to the slaughter/butcher, requesting cuts, selling meat, etc. I'm located in WV not too farm from Washington, DC.

A few questions:

1. should I charge each person per live lb on the hoof?
2. if yes, then I'm guessing I assign each person 1/2 of a particular steer and tell them what 1/2 of the live weight of that steer was, correct?
3. can they designate how they'd like their 1/2 cut? I'm guessing they can call the processor I choose and let him know (but I'll have to find out from that processor).
4. what should I charge, roughly, per live lb? (i.e. what is market in your respective areas)?

I will only have 3-5 calves to feed out each year and a healthy demand for beef from friends/family, so I *should* never have to send them to the sale barn.

Any thoughts on this would be most appreciated.

thanks,

-E

We just sold 5 halves and we charged by the pound hanging weight. We came out farther ahead by doing it this way verses live weight. We checked with the local butcher to see what the going rate was and that's what we went by. At the time 1/2s were going for $1.69 a pound cut and wrapped. We charged $1.35 a pound and they paid the butcher for cutting and wrapping which was .30 a pound. We told our customers to call the butcher and make arrangements on how they wanted their beef cut up and when to pick it up. Worked out just fine.

wvherefords":1rtsdwn0 said: