bull with cows during calving?

Help Support CattleToday:

annedc

Reaction score
Hi
I'm pretty new to cattle breeding. We have just sold the steers that had been with our bull since weaning, so the bull is soon to be on his own. Is it okay to put him with the cows, who are about to begin calving? He's a very quiet 3-year-old poll hereford. I've had different opinions on this - some say they always take their bull out when the cows are going to calve, but someone else said the bull wouldn't bother them, and that he might keep away any marauding foxes.
Thanks
Annedc

The only reason for taking the bull away from the cows is to control your calving season. Bull shouldn't hurt the calves and Momma should take care of her baby.

After fall preg check we turn the bull back in with the bred cows. We pull him shortly before we start calving for comfort. The comfort being wandering around the pasture in the dark and not having to worry about him getting protective of something wandering around HIS girls in the middle of the night.

Thanks for your help with this one - I've got a female farm caretaker who I was battling with, so glad to have some back-up!

My bulls only run with the cows when they are breeding usually from Nov 15th to Feb 1st then they are pulled and they stay in the bull pasture
I don't want my cows bred except at certain times if you aren't worried when you calve then you can run your bull yr round

Pull the bull at calving and put him back when it is the right time. For example they calve in april and you want them to calve in april, then have him on vacation for three months. If you want earliest possible calving, just leave him there.

annedc":3hs3tcou said:
Is it okay to put him with the cows, who are about to begin calving? Thanks
Annedc