Bull riding cow a sure sign?

Help Support CattleToday:

JLScattle

Reaction score
Is a bull riding a cow a sure sign that cow is open and cycling? As in, it is safe to assume that a cow being ridden is not pregnant? Is there ever a situation where a bull will ride a cow that is pregnant?

I was sure all of mine were bred but I saw my bull getting after one the other day and it made me question that.

We AI so don't have a bull (hopefully others who do will weigh in here) but we have had a steer or cow try to mount a bred cow in the latter part of pregnancy. Someone told me then that it's not that uncommon, something hormonal maybe...But I'm fairly new at this so hopefully some more experienced folks will respond.

Good luck!

Is she stands to be bred the odds are she is open, but until you see feet out the back you can;t really be sure she is bred. Just becuase the bull trys to mount, as long as she moves away I would assume she is bred.

Jls stop guessing if your cattle are bred and do blood draws there alot cheaper than waiting for a year and not getting a calf.

I'm betting open. Though bulls will try to ride bulls so it's not definitive. But I bet open. Also - just because you never see them standing for re-breeding doesn't mean they are bred either.

dun":250s4hy6 said:
until you see feet out the back you can;t really be sure she is bred.

Funny. I was going to say that there's no SURE sign of anything in the cattle business. But I guess this would be as good a sign as there is :)

Thanks all. She definitely stood her ground and didn't walk out from under him.

NolanCountyAG":80o28niq said:
JLS, how come you still have the bull turned out if everything was bred? I'm with sky, preg check them so you know for sure.