Bull behavior

Help Support CattleToday:

Jim62

Reaction score
I'm not exactly a beginner, but I am new to having a registered brahma bull on the place. In spite of being supersized (compared to the angus cows), he seems very calm and peaceful. When I put out hay and such, he just stands about 5 feet away and stares at me with a curious look on his face, usually chewing very slowly. If I try to shoo him away, he just stands about 5 feet away and stares at me with a curious look on his face, usually chewing very slowly. He's been here about 9 months now, and this is about all the interaction I've had with him so far.

What I'm wondering is this. Are there any signs or signals I should be looking for that would be a good indicator of his disposition and/or what he's got on his mind? Like how does a bull usually act right before he tries to kill you? I've always used angus bulls in the past and never gave this too much thought, because they were sort of a known quantity and had been handled quite a bit before I got them. But, I don't know very much about ol' Bubba's early years, except for the fact that he had not been handled very much. He's right at 4 years old now.

Maybe some of the oldtimers on here have seen things to watch for in this situation??

right now you have good calm quiet bull,an thats what you want.if he starts bellowing at the sight of you things are changing.if he starts shaking his head an pawing the ground look out.an if starts getting in your way look out.an never take your eye off of him.

It will be hard to tell you in words what to look for. Don't ever turn you back on them and 5' is a little close for my taste. :D

When the Brahma cattle usually show their bad side is when you try to pressure or push them. If at all possible you want to lead them, not push them. Take you time, show them the gates opening, that sort of stuff. Once they shut down and/ or get spooked is when some one gets hurt or stuff get tore up.