Building a Pasture-Fed Herd

Help Support CattleToday:

lead_dog

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this thread, and I'm new to cattle raising. Getting long on book knowledge, but short on practical experience.

We own 70 acres; 50 in pasture, and will move there in 14 months, at which time we'll start an integrated farm with beef cattle, pastured broilers and layers.

1. I'm trying to determine the best breed to start with to be completely forage based, that calves easily and finishes on pasture as quickly as possible. I've heard Angus, I've heard Hereford, but all the reading tells me that hybrid vigor dictates a crossbreed. It gets confusing.

2. What is the best way for me to build my herd? Do I buy some cow/calfs and just try to improve it over time by breeding the best heifers with the best bull I can buy, or is there something else I can do this year to get the herd established.

As an FYI, we live in Georgia.

Thanks for any help you can provide...we're really excited about this.

Lead Dog, I think I would go to the local auction barn if I were you and pay attention to what fetches the most nickels. The tables are starting to turn here in Texas. The last two auctions I have sat through angus were on bottom. No one was bidding. Cross bred range cattle where fetching about $200 more than angus. Angus calves may still be holding their own but cows are not.

You are going to be in a warm climate but not quite as arid as where I am. Look around and see what thrives in your environment, with the grasses that grow in your pastures.

If you get some hereford cows and put an angus over them, you will probably get some decent baldies. Baldies of any kind have traditionally held good market prices no matter what the niche and hoopla is at the time.

Backhoe,