Breeding Polled Herfords

Help Support CattleToday:

lancemart

Reaction score
I have one bull and two Heiffers. One heifer is 1/2 related to the bull the other is not related at all. How close can I breed these animals? I am new at this and do not have any idea. I have tried to find info and have had no luck.
Thanks[/b]

How close is the heifer related to him? if shes his daughter, grand daughter or even great grand daughter i wouldn't breed them togther. The geneitcs get all messed up .

The 1/2 half related should be ok to breed ..but probably advise against breeding her heifer ...to the bull. The precedent used is that it is ok to breed mom and son but not prodgeny to dad. This is not as related. I would avoid it if possible....I always thought it was to close related.

half related means the bull an heifer are half bro an sis an they are ok to breed to eachother scott

Just this past year I bred a Vaquero daughter to a Vaquero son and got an excellent bull calf. Breeding that close will exaggerate both the positives and defects, so care would be in order in choosing to breed this way. I have been told that "line breeding" should only be done with a resulting offspring percentage in the 25% - 50% range. What you're asking about does not brake that rule. It would be right at 50%.

I will emphasize again that line breeding exaggerates defects as well as positive traits.

There is more info on this subject than one can process. The closer the relation the more you will lock in the genetic traits, both good and bad. If all works well, then you've done a good job at line breeding. If it doesn't work out so well, then you're inbreeding.