breeding heifer

Help Support CattleToday:

Annie

Reaction score
Hi, I have a heifer that I AI'd on a natrual heat on the 25. Every thing went well and have been watching her to come back in, she usually shows strong signs, bellowing, alot of walking, mucas and all the bull calves ride her. Yesterday afternoon she was trying to ride this one cow who isnt in heat, she mooed a few times, but nobody showed any interest in her and just shoved her away. I figured things where just getting going and we would have standing heat this morning but nothing. It dosnt look like she had been riden no mucus and everybody is calm. What should I have done, assumed she was in standing heat last night and bred her today or what. I havent done anything, thinking maybe something would happen today but nothing and now I think I may have missed my chance, but I really didnt want to mess things up by breeding her again if she is indeed preg. what should I hav done? This is my first year AI'ing, I have heat detected in the past and had a tec come out but its just to hard to get somebody out here!

I do not know enough other than to tell you to throw her back with the bull - he'll let you know what happened. No sense in waiting too long - another month and you're out of sync with your mob.

Bez

That would be ideal but I dont have a clean-up bull yet, next year for sure!

May have been another cow coming in heat...or one of them if she was with a herd. It's not unusual for all kinds of riding to be attempted when one is coming into estrus.

Well thank you for you replys. The cow she was riding was bred 5-10, but maybe someone else is close. This is very frustrating sometimes, last year when I had the tec out I would call her and tell her who was doing what with who and at what time and she would say ok we will breed at such and such time. That didnt always work and I thought I could do better but Im not so sure!