Breeder Chicken Houses

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
I am thinking about building two Perdue breeder houses here on my farm for a suppmental income. I would appreciate any positive or negative feedback that anyone has from their experiences. This is going to be a big debt but I think if me and my family work these houses we can make some good money? Thanks for your input.

DF

I have no personal experience as I hate chickens. We raised the hateful little critters when I was growing up and that was more than enough for me. Based on what I've read and been told about the industry as it is today, however, I'm certain that I would be doing some very careful and thorough investigation before I committed to the outlay of cash. Just my thoughts.

I talked to Perdue about these. The barns are sure expensive, $285,000 if I remember right. For the time involved if did not seem like a good return on money for the risk involved. I was told 6-8 hours per day for 1 barn, $60,000 gross per flock, 1 flock per 11 months. Perdues's estimate was $18,000 a year per barn while making the mortage payments for 15 years. Is that what Perdue is quoting you? Several people around here raise broilers and fryers as we are near a plant to process them. Just seem like too much risk for me and really don't have a good place for a 500 foot long barn with good access for trucks.

I have been praying for the last ten years for my two to burn.
I got lucky last year and one of them blew down :) Its gonna hurt paying off the other one but at least we have a workable option now to get out from under them.

Don't even bother with two--- the only people around here that seems to be happy with chidkens have 6 or more houses.
Its either get in big or stay out.