Braunvieh

Help Support CattleToday:

cowrus

Reaction score
I am thinking about using a Braunvieh bull with angus cattle. Has anyone done this and what has your outcomes been? I am new to this breed and have been doing some reading, but would like to hear from someone who has personel experience. Thanks

We bought 10 red angus heifers, 5 were bred to a black gelbvieh bull. Had to pull all 5, the little one weighed 92 lbs. Maybe the this braunvieh is better on birth weight than the purebred? Based on what little I know once you get above 85 lbs in the angus/red angus/herford breeds you may be asking for trouble. My opinon.

I had a shepherd /collie mix when I was a kid . She had nine puppies unassisted from an unknown sire. Hope this helps.

Ollie...
It's a good thing the ole gal didn't need assistance, it's harder than you can imagime pulling pups... the chains never fit properly around the ankles and it you are not careful when you step back and apply pressure to the harness you can find yourself on your butt with a puppy flying through the air.....

You think pulling pups is hard...you ever trying A.I.ing a shepherd/collie mix?

I wonder if Lngvew is confusing Braunviehs and Balancers. Balancers are a composite of Gelbvieh and Angus (red or black). Braunvieh are a purebred breed, and according to the Braunvieh association quite possibly the oldest breed in the world. The Brown Swiss dairy breed originated from Braunviehs in Switzerland and have the same color patterns.