braunvieh pros and cons question

Help Support CattleToday:

bridgesandspangler

Reaction score
Hello all who read,

I am an FFA kid looking at braunvieh cattle and i was wondering some of their pros and cons before i decide to ventuer into them. My family has a hereford background so we dont know much about them. So help me out if you can.
Thanks

All of the problems of Brown Swiss dairy cattle but better carcass and a lot of bone to meat ratio.
For my taste the ears are way to hairy to be able to read ear tags.

dun

The Cattle Show on RFD tv did a very good program on Braunviehs last week. It got my interest up considerably in the breed. Sorry I have no experience with them at this time to share with you. According to various producers on the show, Braunviehs will thrive from Mexico to Canada, and the best Momma cows in the world are BraunviehXAngus(black or red.) But this is all hearsay.In the next two or threeyears,however, if I don't change my mind, I plan on using a Braunvieh bull on some of my heifers that have reached 3/4 angus or better. So, in 4 or 5 years I will be able to share some real experience with you. Getting educated about cattle is a long, slow process. This probably hasn't helped you any, but check back with me in, say, the year 2011. Hopefully, some of the breeders that were on the Cattle Show will post on this topic. Or some other Braunvieh breeders that weren't on the show.

ga. prime":2wmzkn0l said:
According to various producers on the show, Braunviehs will thrive from Mexico to Canada, and the best Momma cows in the world are BraunviehXAngus(black or red.) But this is all hearsay.

Would you expect anything less from someone promoting a relative unknown breed.
Just a short few years ago, World Feeder Bermuda grass was touting sort of the same similar claims for the World Feeder Bermuda grass Just a different product, same hype.