Bloat in a 7 mth old calf?

Help Support CattleToday:

FLHobbyFarmer

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to raising cattle and I have a concern. I had been experiencing a mild drought in my area so in order to make up for the lack of graze I began to bag the grass that I mowed around my house and feed it to my calf. I have done this several times in the last couple of months. The last time I did this was on sunday. Well on monday he didnt have an apetite and started having diarreah. His diet has been very regimented. He receives the same amount of feed and the same time every day, I also keep hay available to him all time. I am affraid I have made a grave mistake by feeding him this grass. I am not sure what is wrong with him or how to deal with the problem. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

If he was fine before you started feeding the grass clipping just quit feeding them to him. He should be ok pretty quickly.

FLHobbyFarmer":vma7ene6 said:
Hi, I am new to raising cattle and I have a concern. I had been experiencing a mild drought in my area so in order to make up for the lack of graze I began to bag the grass that I mowed around my house and feed it to my calf. I have done this several times in the last couple of months. The last time I did this was on sunday. Well on monday he didnt have an apetite and started having diarreah. His diet has been very regimented. He receives the same amount of feed and the same time every day, I also keep hay available to him all time. I am affraid I have made a grave mistake by feeding him this grass. I am not sure what is wrong with him or how to deal with the problem. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.