Best for profit

Help Support CattleToday:

Pointer1160

Reaction score
I'm not a beginner but I thought this would be the best place for this post. I can't have a cow calf operation because I often have to be gone a night or two because of work and that won't work when it is calving time. I have enough pasture for twenty head. Would it be more profitable to buy cows, breed them and then sell heavy bread or to buy 400 lb stockers in April and sell in October. In your mind would focusing on a particular breed turn more profit. Yes, it's hard to turn a good profit from either of the above.

Pointer1160":o1ij09av said:
I'm not a beginner but I thought this would be the best place for this post. I can't have a cow calf operation because I often have to be gone a night or two because of work and that won't work when it is calving time. I have enough pasture for twenty head. Would it be more profitable to buy cows, breed them and then sell heavy bread or to buy 400 lb stockers in April and sell in October. In your mind would focusing on a particular breed turn more profit. Yes, it's hard to turn a good profit from either of the above.
I have some I haven't seen in two weeks. Usually check them once a week. Get some that ca take care of themselves. :2cents:

Pointer1160":zl2xpkuu said:

I think I would rather leave a cow for a few days than a weaned 400lb steer.

Where are you located? Theres several things that can work, I wouldn't let me not being there every day and night keep me away from cows.

You could buy 750lb heifers in April put them with a bull and sell them bred in October, that could work good.

You could buy 4wt bull calves and sell 8wt steers in the fall, would be some good money there.

Or you could buy bred cows, let them calve, breed them back and sell bred cows and 5wt calves separate in the fall.