Best Breed...

Help Support CattleToday:

Bestoutwest

Reaction score
I know this is a loaded question, but I'm going to ask it anyway. I'm new to this side of cattle and I'm looking to start with a couple cows to get going. In your opinion what would be the best breed for:
A) Value at sale barn
B) Gentle personality

I have red and black angus, breeders, beef master breeders in the area.

Thanks for the help. :help:

There isn't a best breed - period

They all have value at the barn - quality always sells - crap will always take a hit. And that is with any colour.

You need to provide more info on your experience, time available, ability to do hard work, land base, money available, feed capability, equipment on hand, housing, fencing and more

Best to all

Bez

As far as best breed at the sale barn, the only way to know is go to the sale barn.
As far as docility, I have seen animals of every breed that were extremely gentle. Just choose the right ones in the breed you decide upon.
Just something you need to always remember if you don't already know. Gentle cattle have hurt more people than mean ones.
And docile cows are not always docile when they have a calf.

Is this range or pasture? For pature just about anything will work. For range you need a little Brahman influence so they will more effectively cover the area and utilize the forage. That touch of Brahman is even more important if the water points are miles in between.

It depends on what works for YOU in YOUR area.
Different management, different climates,and different local diseases tend to require, within reason, different types of cattle.
Talk to your local cattlemen /women and find out why they raise the breeds they do raise in your area.