Beginner looking for answers

Help Support CattleToday:

J.Robinson

Reaction score
Hi all I am looking for some good informational material on getting started. For things like regular feeding good begginer cattle for beef, how much room do I need. (acers) I am looking for neccesitys for now I was thinking of starting with maybe 3 to 5 just to get my feet wet but with intentions of growing in the future. Equipment needs and buildings as well. Vet care and cleaning as well. and anything else I might need. that I havent thought of. Wich I am sure there is much more as I said I am a novice. I was also thinking of going to a nearby ranch and offering to help for knowledge. Would that be something that is done very often. I thought that might be a good way to get some experience. also should I start with feeders or full grown or maybe something in between.

J.Robinson":2zg8p1bo said:
Hi all I am looking for some good informational material on getting started. For things like regular feeding good begginer cattle for beef, how much room do I need. (acers) I am looking for neccesitys for now I was thinking of starting with maybe 3 to 5 just to get my feet wet but with intentions of growing in the future. Equipment needs and buildings as well. Vet care and cleaning as well. and anything else I might need. that I havent thought of. Wich I am sure there is much more as I said I am a novice. I was also thinking of going to a nearby ranch and offering to help for knowledge. Would that be something that is done very often. I thought that might be a good way to get some experience. also should I start with feeders or full grown or maybe something in between.

You are more than welcome to come down here for some OJT. I will teach you all I know (questioned by some),treat you well, and will charge only the minimal fee. You need a bus ticket? ;-)

certherfbeef":r03aysuu said:
Mike, he is alot closer to me. I'll pick him up. ;-) :D