beefmaster or limo

Help Support CattleToday:

kid

Reaction score
Newbie here looking for advice.

I am seriously considering getting into raising beef but Im not sure whats what. My parents have a farm that has about 48 acres of fields and 46 acres of pasture that isnt being used. I have 3 young kids. Which breed would be a better money maker, and have good temperment with kids.

Between those two choices I think Beefmaster would be better, limos have a reputation for being difficult. But would choose another breed for your area Black Baldies would do well and bring good money on sale day.

If I was you I would not use limo's for sure, beefmaster maybe. You might want to look into the British White Parks. They are very docial, I know their are alot of other breeds you could consider, Herford, Murry Gray, ect.

I keep herefords for the very reason you are asking. I have young kids, they are very little help at this point but around all the time. lol (they should be) Herefords are by and large gentle easy to work and you can breed them back to a angus bull get black baldies, which sell well.
The quickest way to leave my place is to not be workable, I would rather loose money than a kid, lol I grew up workin them and my kids will to.

Good luck, you will not need to have that dreaded sex talk with cattle if you kids are around they sort of fill in the blanks. :lol:

MD

If you're going to let your kids get around the cows, Herefords are the way to go. Or Shorthorn. Definitely not Limo. Beefmaster, maybe.

redfornow":2gqpcyb0 said:
I keep herefords for the very reason you are asking. I have young kids, they are very little help at this point but around all the time. lol (they should be) Herefords are by and large gentle easy to work and you can breed them back to a angus bull get black baldies, which sell well.
The quickest way to leave my place is to not be workable, I would rather loose money than a kid, lol I grew up workin them and my kids will to.