Beef Jerky

Help Support CattleToday:

I have been making beef jerky for several years. This is the recipe that everyone wants a copy of. I am not sure if everyone can get these igredients, but, here it is.
10 lbs Eye of Round
2 bottles of Allegro Creole (orange top)
1 teaspoon of Willingham's Cajun Hot Rub

Mix seasoning and Allegro together. Slice meat about 1/4" thick. Place in gallon zipper bag in refrigerator for no less than 24 hours. Drain, and place in dehydrator. I have an Excalibur dehydrator, and it takes at least 10 hours to dry.

I made some one time. Marinated in Barq's root beer. It was pretty good. I can't remember much else about it. We had just gotten a dehydrater for Christmas!

I have never tried a smoker. I think my smoker heats up a bit more than my dehydrator. Once I tried to dry a large amount of beef, more than I could get in my dehydrator, and put it in the oven at the lowest convection tempature. It cooked it too much. It was good, but not like it was out of the dehydrator.

ga. prime":3baqy4xz said:
Do you mean common Black Cherry?

I mean the cherry scraps from the cabinet shop where I work. I don't know the exact species. I think it comes from various sources, but it would be lumber grade.

Try smoking salmon or trout with cherry sometime. The finished product is so bitter as to be unpalatable, works good with meat though.

dun

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Jerky.
We tried a smoker once, and we prefer the dehydrator. Tasted perty good, 'sept for the fact thet we might have had it in there too long, and it dried out.
What is y'alls preferance of jerky. Storebought, or homemade?

We make venison jerky marinated in a concoction with liquid smoke, wochester (sp) powdered garlic, onion powder, cracked pepper, honey, and some more stuff I can't remember. I like homemade best expecially when it is not too crunchy.