Back hoe

Help Support CattleToday:

Actually, no. I am an engineer.

I've owned one for years. Quarried thousands of tons of limestone. Rode it for several thousand hours. Got a Cat and a loader too.

Do you have a specific question about a hoe?

Bought an old one years ago for the farm and have done lots of work with it. So let's say I'm putting in a line from one solid point to another, like from one wall to another or fence to fence. Right now I start from one end and when I get closer to the other, start over from that end. Then I have to join the two trenches which in my case, I do from the side. Of course this just makes a "hole" rather than a trench. It works, I just think I'm making an unnecessary mess and their has to be a better technique. Any tips here?

Train":w74d9q3b said:
Bought an old one years ago for the farm and have done lots of work with it. So let's say I'm putting in a line from one solid point to another, like from one wall to another or fence to fence. Right now I start from one end and when I get closer to the other, start over from that end. Then I have to join the two trenches which in my case, I do from the side. Of course this just makes a "hole" rather than a trench. It works, I just think I'm making an unnecessary mess and their has to be a better technique. Any tips here?
why are you pulling off of your 2nd ditch and sitting to the side??
just keep going til your ditches join and you are straddling your first ditch then set yourself off of the ditch

we straddle and crawl across ditches and other objects all the time it isn't any big deal

Its pretty much what I do too. Pick up the outriggers about a foot, curl up the back bucket and drop it in the trench a few feet behind the rear wheels. Pick up the rear end and set it across with the back bucket. Keep the front bucket down and sled the front end across with the hoe in reverse.