Anyone familiar with electronic heat detection?

Help Support CattleToday:

Tori Te

Reaction score
We have always A.I'd using Cydrs & Lutalyse w/Cistorellin or Factrel. However, Silent Heat is my nemesis! ARGH! (where is a pirate when you need one?!) So, switching over now to Allflex Cow Monitoring for Heat Detection (not cheap!), eliminates the need for hormonal drugs. My question is if we do NOT use hormonal drugs disposing entirely with Cydrs & Cistorellin & such, (which of course do give the cow a big boost) will that somehow diminish our reproductive success? Thank you! (always learning!)

Welcome to the board. I'm a veterinarian, and several of my dairy clients have heat detection systems. The ones who bought them with the intention of eliminating estrus synchronization programs have been very disappointed. They don't work well for that at all, because they cannot make a cow cycle and they will not detect a truly silent heat. Farms that bought them to use as an adjunct to their synchronization program have done very well. They synchronize the cows and breed all of them, then rely on the monitoring system to detect open cows returning to heat. Open cows missed by the heat detection system will be resynchronized at pregnancy check.

They definitely have value, especially if you're running a large herd, but don't be oversold on their abilities.