Any suggestions for making a good family milker?

Help Support CattleToday:

Moody

Reaction score
I have a jersey calf that I work with daily. I try to lead her with a halter daily but admit that i don't always get to it but I do rub her and pet her daily, trying to make her tame and comfortable with me. She is 2.5 months old, approximately, and I recently weaned her. She is eating at least a 5 pound coffee can of feed a day and grazing on grass and some hay.

I was hoping to find some suggestions on making her a good milker (as in, does not kick me or fight me in any way when we start). I know this is 2 years from now, but I am currently milking a first freshener goat who is beating me down. I can't even get this goat to stop kicking the bucket and stepping in the milk. I can't imagine trying to milk a feisty fighting cow.

Is there anything I should be doing now that will help make things easier? Are horns going to be ok on a family milker?

I'm not a dairy expert, but I do milk a couple of my beef cows.. so here's what I do

Yep, they're all tame pets, they are used to being touched all over right from small, and of course getting treats and pettings. Horns are fine if the attitude is fine.

Since this is a jersey, I'd recommend when she has her first calf, bottle feed it ONLY... Don't let it nurse, she'll be used that the only thing that milks her is you.. once they know the calf is supposed to do it it gets much harder.. I have some older cows that got tame older in life, it's a death wish to try and get milk from them, even though they're tame.