Reaction score
Grass Fed Red Angus, 11 months old.

1863434846_4069533192.jpg
http://cattletoday.com/photos/data/591/thumbs/1862602925_03804ea194.jpg

1863423536_fca9ad8687.jpg
http://cattletoday.com/photos/data/591/1862593399_7e122b6b15.jpg

Jon

Jim62":grhrj1zo said:
Doesn't seem to be very good at following directions.....

Actually, as always, she was giving me directions. And no, I'm not very good at taking them. :help:

Anybody have any specific faults they can point out? As I said, I am trying to learn from this.
As I noted he has been grass fed. That could account for some of his light weight etc. I can recognize that his back is not as straight (flat) as some I have seen praised for a straight back. His sheath looks normal (not angled ).

Thanks in advance

Jon

Do you have any other grass fed animals to compare him to? Management makes a big difference in growth and appearance.

I wouldn't keep him for breeding ,I don't like his top line ,but other than that he should finish out nice, put him on feed till he's 14-15 months old and see what he looks like. Maybe you could still band him with with a big bander , I never did any at 11 months , but he should do okay as a bull.

MissouriExile":1cm6c5c6 said:
Jim62":1cm6c5c6 said:
Doesn't seem to be very good at following directions.....

Anybody have any specific faults they can point out?

Thanks in advance

Jon

You be right, the sway back is not a big plus for me. But that don't affect tha taste a tha meat any :D :D

He is slightly pinched in the heartgirth, lighter muscled than I prefer in the hindquarter and most importantly he has a weak loin.

My main concern would be the longevity of the productive life of his daughters because of the weak loin. Can you imagine what a cow with a very weak loin would look like after 5 calvings? I can assure you the cow won't improve with age and will sooner or later break down often resulting in you having a bottle baby to raise.

Frankie":2a5dlws0 said: