Angus x Char. pics

Help Support CattleToday:

cow_girl_675

Reaction score
Wanted to post our 4 Angus x Charolais cows we kept. I posted pics of them when they were about 3 months old. Wanted to see what ya'll thought of them.
http://www.geocities.com/wlsbrock/cows2
They are the last 4 on the page, links to their Sire and Dam are under their names.

Bullet
bullet2.jpg

Fiona
fiona2.jpg

Luna
luna3.jpg

Stardust
stardust.jpg

Great! They are beautiful!! I may try this combination at some point. Does this cross produce good maternal instincts? Good milk? Gentle?

What would they look like if I went back with another Angus? Dark gray or black? Or smokey? If I went with a herf they would probably be red baldie right?

suscofa":30siqttc said:
If I went with a herf they would probably be red baldie right?

I'm no expert on beef cattle, but I think the calf would look kind of like this one...

yellowbaldycalf.jpg

Unless this is an F1 Char/Herf cross. :p :???:

cowboyup216":38uvd6h8 said:
No herf. Smokey grays bring more at sale time.

the smokies aint bringing much of nothing around here right now...but that's just in my part of the country :)

suscofa":rhdpchzd said:
Great! They are beautiful!! I may try this combination at some point. Does this cross produce good maternal instincts? Good milk? Gentle?
they are still carrying their first calves, they will calve sometime near the end of this year, but they are all very gentle.

I'll post some pics of their calves, not sure if our blk angus bull bred them or our tarentaise bull, might be a mix.

ALL are merely average potential BEEF producers!

Bullet - Good topline, level rump but needs heavier bone and shows weak hindquarters.

Fiona - This heifer is a more beef type heifer than Bullet, but appears cowhocked and needs more bone. She has a good head, and should make a fairly good brood cow if she is bred to a really good BEEF BULL! Better hindquarters than the Bullet cow.