angus bull question

Help Support CattleToday:

moloss

Reaction score
ok I'm new to cattle (have only owned them for 2 1/2 yrs) so bare with me.....I have mixed breed cows (mainly reds and blacks and a few hereferd crosses) and for the last couple years I have been using a very nice red angus bull that I bought right (meaning a great price).....well the other day he tore his cruciate ligament and now he's been sold at the sale barn.....so I'm looking for a new bull...now here's the question....If I buy a registered black angus bull can I sell the calves as angus? My understanding is that if they are at least 50% registered stock you can call them angus....is this true? thanks Chris.

IMO, they would be Angus crosses.... I would not call them Angus unless I KNEW without a doubt that they were 100% Angus.

I wonder if what you might be thinking of is the CAB program (certified Angus Beef) which allows for Angus sired animals to be called Angus.

Hopefully some other more knowledgeable folks on here will chime in.

moloss":8qkigx0i said:
ok I'm new to cattle (have only owned them for 2 1/2 yrs) so bare with me.....I have mixed breed cows (mainly reds and blacks and a few hereferd crosses) and for the last couple years I have been using a very nice red angus bull that I bought right (meaning a great price).....well the other day he tore his cruciate ligament and now he's been sold at the sale barn.....so I'm looking for a new bull...now here's the question....If I buy a registered black angus bull can I sell the calves as angus? My understanding is that if they are at least 50% registered stock you can call them angus....is this true? thanks Chris.