angus and santa gertrudis

Help Support CattleToday:

fishgirl4

Reaction score
new at this..have an opportunity to purchase santa gertrudis/angus hybrid cow/ calf pairs(1/4 and 3/4 respectively)...i've read that the sg calve easily and are very heat tolerant and have some other good things going for them...is it a big deal to not get all angus...no crossbreeding?

It all depends on where you live and what you are going to do with the cattle. Are you looking at just raising calves to sell at your local sale barn? Are you looking to increase the size of your heard someday?

What are your goals with these cattle?

i am a beginner..getting 10-12 cow/calf pairs to make a little money at the sale barn...finallly ready to get livestock after 1 year of clearing, fencing, well.water..have 70 acres and was going to get angus, then this opportunity popped up ...i live in midddle tn ...i am not a big rancher from texas (obviously)...just a little farm mom, tired of being a soccer mom...

fishgirl4":1ci0e6mn said:
new at this..have an opportunity to purchase santa gertrudis/angus hybrid cow/ calf pairs(1/4 and 3/4 respectively)...i've read that the sg calve easily and are very heat tolerant and have some other good things going for them...is it a big deal to not get all angus...no crossbreeding?

There's a ton of research showing that crossbred cows produce more pounds of beef than straightbred cows. They tend to live longer. They tend to be healthier. So running crossbred cows is not a bad thing. The trick with crossbred cows is knowing what's in the make up of the cross. On the other hand, straightbred cows should give you a more uniform calf crop and help you hit a specific grid market if you're owning your calves through the feedlot.