Am I lacking anything supplement wise for heifers?

Help Support CattleToday:

j&lfarms":abqdh0z6 said:
I ask because I am curious and I'm just starting out. My dad always tells me it doesn't cost any money to ask, but if you ask and learn maybe it will help you out sometime.

j&l the cattle look good. I would get rid of all the blocks including the protein block, and buy a bag of good loose mineral with salt in it. Put it out so they have free access to it. Should be all they need. Trace mineral blocks are a complete waste of money, salt blocks in general don't allow them to get all the salt they really need.

You got yourself started. Keep working. We don't have a lot of the younger generation interested in cattle. It is refreshing to see someone getting into the business.

They have to be healthy enough to breed regularly and to raise a nice calf. Any supplement beyond that is too much, in my opinion. Just keep them healthy and earn a few nickels when you can.

Look I was in your same shoes a few years ago when I started. You will get very good info, very bad info, the guys that just like to start trouble, and the guys that will have something negative to say no matter what on this board. You will learn who they are and take it with the grain of sand that their opinion is worth. It doesnt do anything to dig your self a hole with some of these people. Trust me I have worn out many a shovel. Lose the block get good mineral and mix 50/50 with salt. Depending on the hay I will feed grain to keep them in good condition. Most on here will say only grass but until you have great genetics that do well on grass and great pastures keep feeding them what you want if your pocket can handle it. Most of the time the guys that criticize cow pics dont post any of there own. I wonder why. Enjoy the board and everyone on it.

Don't go too hard on Brute he's a smart kid and has his head on straight
He just needs a little help in the tact department

backhoeboogie":3okkcr14 said: