Air conditioning business???

Help Support CattleToday:

cypressfarms

Reaction score
A good friend of mine had an a/c business with a partner. The partner and him split; the partner supplied the working capital but was embezzling. My buddy has the experience and is liscenced and has over 25 years of a/c experience. Problem is that he's broke. He's asking me if I would want to go in with him and provide the capital (read cash) - and he provide the experience/ work. On the surface it seem like a good idea; a/c men are in high demand here and there is a short supply of them. Problem is that I have no experience with a/c businesses, although I'm a manager by profession. He wants me to set up an account where he can use a debit card to purchase the supplies he needs, and then deposit the invoices upon completion. LIke I said, he's flat broke and can't even go out any buy the units to install right now. I would get a percentage of the profit, calculated monthly. My wife is anal about money and could monitor the account on-line to make sure everything was on the up and up. (She's also been a purchasing agent)

Anyone have any knowledge of this type of field? Although the initial investment isn't that much (less than 10 bred cows would cost), I'm always leery of pulling money out of savings. Any input would be appreciated. You can pm me if you'd rather.

Thanks in advance!

I wouldn't take a chance in ruining your friendship. However, if you want to help him get on his feet is another matter.

HerefordSire":2q57p2o5 said:
I wouldn't take a chance in ruining your friendship. However, if you want to help him get on his feet is another matter.

Rather then a partnership, why not loan him X dollars on a note?

dun":30g0iav8 said:
HerefordSire":30g0iav8 said:

Rather then a partnership, why not loan him X dollars on a note?

That is what I am thinking. Not literally a loan though. It could take the form of buying AC units in cypress' name so he gets his cash before anyone else.