AI question from first timer for mixed herd

Help Support CattleToday:

I'll chime in one more time with you guys. And keep in mind I'm a novice. But here's how I'm seeing this, and some of my reasoning for leaning toward multiple bulls for AI in my mixed herd. I thought about using the "target bull" which seemed to make sense. But I'm having more trouble finding one than I did finding three. Does anyone know of a "target bull" that has above average carcass, +4 or better CED and below 2.0 BW, above average on CEM and HP, milk of 22 and Doc of 20+, and I would need ADG of .25+ and DMI below 20. MW of +20 or a little more and MH of +2 to +4 ??? Oh, and WW of +60 or above. $W and $B above average and +EN ???
I don't think there is a target bull as far as a cowmaker goes. Seems it would depend on the cow as to who the target bull would be for producing heifers....
Thanks again for all the opinions

I assume that you did the AAA Sire Search with those numbers? Did you also search through the bulls with lower accuracy. They might be your bull but would have a chance to find sources that are breeding along the criteria that you want.

I looked at your minimum criteria (numbers) a little closer. You will not find an Angus bull like that because the DMI and MH values are off the charts. And the $EN is opposite of the high performance minimums. Might want to rethink: maternal or terminal is priority with the right numbers to search. Or change breeds.

You have alot of conflicting priorities as far as EPDs go.. Big WW EPD cattle are normally not good on $EN. Takes EN to grow, I did adjust some of your selection criteria and found a bull that might work..

YON Future Force Z77 (ABS is listed as an owner) 17264322 Pretty good on MW And MH for a +62 WW EPD. $EN is in the 70% percentile, so not what you wanted..meets the rest of your criteria I think..

Drop the WW requirement to 53 and you get 10 bulls and 3 or 4 I recognize as AI bulls to select from.