Afterbirth

Help Support CattleToday:

jallen

Reaction score
I had a calf born a week ago tomorrow, Thursday. The cow still has had a string from her rear to the ground ever since. After a few days it started looking dried out. Checked her today and it looked fresh, slightly reddish and moist with a small red ball hanging near the ground. A few minutes later the ball was gone but still the string. I'm new to cattle but I've had about a dozen calves born on my place and this has never happened. Can anyone shed some light on what's going on and how concerned I should be?

The cow is a middle aged cow and she is acting normal best I can tell. Active and eating. Calf is doing great. Thanks guys

kenny thomas":19ydxzr3 said:
If it looks fresh it is still shedding. Un less she shows some sign of a problem just leave her alone. It should finish passing soon.
And use a balanced mineral program for your cows, that usually precludes any retained AB.

I never worry about them unless the cow starts to look sick. Never pull on it. I've found that when we have a cow retain their afterbirth its caused from a couple things, difficult birth, preemie, or twins. The calf can be a preemie and you not know. If you noticed that their hair was straight and a little shorter than usual, it could have been a tad premature.

I'm using a crystalyx mineral, spelling may be off. I've got a mixture of high mag and the copper version out now. The cows were getting a reddish tinge hence the high copper mineral and I've got the high mag out due to all the rye and fescue. My pasture is the greenest thing you'd hope to see right now. Hopefully those suffice as they came recommended by some guys I trust.
dun":2hqq5t1i said:
kenny thomas":2hqq5t1i said:
If it looks fresh it is still shedding. Un less she shows some sign of a problem just leave her alone. It should finish passing soon.
And use a balanced mineral program for your cows, that usually precludes any retained AB.