Advice on corn chopper and silage

Help Support CattleToday:

shadyhollownj

Reaction score
Ok so I have 15-20 mommas and run a registered cow/calf. We only have 20 acres of pasture and 22 acres of hay ground. Feed is killing us and we are looking to start feeding corn silage and alfalfa. I am looking to put in 10 acres of corn doublecropped with trical 815. I wanna chop 7 acres and cob corn the other three. I already have a planter and two row picker lined up from a neighbor. I am gonna use a bunker silo and I am a concrete contractor so pad and big blocks arent a problem. I have a 2011 NH T5050 95hp 11,000 lbs with filled tires. I am looking for a one row picker and need to know what are some good models. Now our ground can be wet so I dont know if there is models that can pull a wagon in line with the tractor if thats possible. I know I will be offset with the picker but I will deal with it for three acres. Any help with the process or equipment recommendations would be great. I also have a neighbor that chops 8 acres for himself but he does 40,000 horse hay bales so he never has the time and uses a bigger tractor with a two row. I gotta see how much he would charge for 7 acres and if he would be interested.

I would prob. try and hire the chopping done. Choppers are pretty expensive to maintain and you would need forage boxes too. For 7 ac. I think you could hire it done much cheaper then do it yourself, that be true "here" anyway, but we have several custom chopping guys here too. Many of the dairies, even the big ones, hire their feed chopped. If you do make a pile/bunker silo, be sure to pack it really good and chop when the corn is pretty wet, it'll keep much better then if it gets dry. This can be the problem with custom hire, getting it done on time. I'd see what your neighbor says, and go from there.