Acorns?

Help Support CattleToday:

BAGTIC

Reaction score
I am new at this.

I know deer, pigs, tukeys, squirrels, etc all eat acorns but will it hurt cattle if they eat too many, how ever much that is. We have a bumper acorn crop this year and my animals all hanging out under the oaks vacuuming acorns like they were popcorn while ignoring perfectly good grass.

Yes. It is a condition called acidosis. More dangerous when the acorns are green, jsut fallen off the trees. The dried ones can hurt also. Anything cattle start eat and get to muc hof right off the bat is not a good thing. New feed stuffs should always be slowly introduced. I they are camping out under the tree I suggest feeding some free choice hay or better get them away from the tree.

If you cant keep them away from the acorns, make sure they have plenty of hay or grass to eat to cushion those sharp pointed acorns that cut the stomach lining and set up infection. Generally, after a good hard freeze, the acorns will not cause problems. Fresh green ones can kill cattle. It is true that deer, turkey, pigs, and squirrels will get fat on acorns, but cattle will starve or die sometimes

stocky":1fgmx4pe said:
If you cant keep them away from the acorns, make sure they have plenty of hay or grass to eat to cushion those sharp pointed acorns that cut the stomach lining and set up infection. Generally, after a good hard freeze, the acorns will not cause problems. Fresh green ones can kill cattle. It is true that deer, turkey, pigs, and squirrels will get fat on acorns, but cattle will starve or die sometimes

Pin Oak and Live oak acorns are deadly due to the tannic acid and a cow will eat them till she kills herself. No problem with red oak and white oak acorns as my pastures are full of them plus woods that are fenced off.