ABS CE Stars/Magic number for CE?

Help Support CattleToday:

Air gator

Reaction score
Just wondering about the ABS calving ease stars.
Hoover Dam is +8 for calving ease and -0.3 BW and has a four star calving ease rating.
PA Power Tool is +11 for CED and +1 for BW and has a four star CE rating
Substantial is +15 for CED and -1.8 for BW and has a three star CE rating.
Aviator is +17 for CED and -3.3 for BW and has a three star CE rating. (.83 for accuracy for BW).
Rockmount is +16 for CED and -1 for BW and has a four star CE rating. (85 accuracy for BW).

If you went by AAA numbers alone you might rule out Hoover Dam for heifers.
Broken Bow is +11 for CED and -1.1 for BW but ABS gives him 3 stars for CE .

My friend recommends at least +10 for CED and no more than +1.5 BW.

I think that what your friend recommends are good numbers, I have used bulls with less CED and as high as 2.1 for BW and been ok.
I am not a large producer, so I haven't had a lot of calves by those bulls, but have had some by several of them. Hoover Dam is one of my favorites, have had 8-10 by him, most from heifers, with no problems. Had a daughter of HD calve this morning, by the cleanup bull, her half brother also by HD. I have wondered if his drop in CED from 10-11 to 8 could be due in part to the cows/heifers he is being bred to. Used Rockmount on heifers this year, and Power Tool for cows. Some of the cows calves seem as small as the heifer's.
Since I have been selling bred heifers, I have learned to use the higher CED bulls, like you had been recommended, because if the bull's CED dropped it would hopefully still be 7 or above. I had some close calls on CEDs when I was using sons of Predestined and Missing Link, as there CEDs were 7-8 when I bought them and when there sires numbers dropped, I was left hoping they would still be 7 so I could still sell in the sale. A friend bought some of the heifers, and said they calved good.