3 newest baby camels

Help Support CattleToday:

cameldairy

Reaction score
3newbabycamels-1.jpg

That is like if I present my cow as "purebred cow"! And my dog as "purebred dog"!

No, it really isn't. Not in the USA. There are only Dromedaries and Bactrians and crosses of the two or hybrids. We do not have as many unrelated camels in this country as the Arab and Australian countries do. They do recognize different breeds. We have different bloodlines and breed for specific colors, sizes and temperament, but not differentiating them as any certain breeds. I've been raising camels for a living 25 years now, and zebras for longer than that, speaking of that, zebras are of different breeds and I raise Chapmans.

cameldairy":1qpz98eh said:
No, it really isn't. Not in the USA. There are only Dromedaries and Bactrians and crosses of the two or hybrids.

Ok. the cross is referred to as a "tulu", no idea what its called in english? Bactrians are most common around here. And "cows". :banana:

We mostly have Dromedary here in the US, so the Bactrian price is about double. Do you know the average prices of Bactrians and Dromedary in your country? Or which is more expensive?

Here is all I found on the word "tulu"...

Tulu is a regional language spoken in coastal districts of Karnataka i.e. Dakshina Kannada and Udupi. It is the 24th most populous Indian language according to the 2001 census of India. It is often mistakenly claimed as a dialect of Kannada. In reality, it is an independently derived descendent of the proto-Dravidian language. Tulu does not have a widely used script, though efforts are on to discover or construct one. Currently, most writing in the language is in the Kannada script. A lack of a script, however, has not prevented it from developing a vibrant literature of its own, most notably poems and plays

We call our hybrids F-1 (half Dromedary, half Bactrian) and F-2 (3/4 Bactrian and 1/4 Dromedary

cameldairy":3ox45cmz said: