126 lb. new born

Help Support CattleToday:

W.B.":3lr0s0vt said:
The first generation of the high birth weight is not the problem but when that higher birthweight creeps into the cowherd things get a lot harder.

I find it interesting that opponents of high birthweights always mention birthweight creep.

Selecting for higher birthweights is no different than any other genetic trait like frame size or muscling or etc etc etc. Its certainly no different than selecting for low birth weights.

You must exercise discipline when choosing your replacements, and aggressively cull out those who don't go where you want. I've been running high birthweights for the last 6 years and my average hasn't crept up at all. Before I tried the low birthweights, my average birthweights stayed within that 100 lb average + or - a few lbs each year, depending on bulls. Any bull that brought my average up too much left, and none of his daughters stayed either. Ditto any bull and his daughters that brought things down too much. If a heifer was born way above that years average, she could be the nicest animal walking and she'd still be freezer material.

I guess I don't find this all to be terribly difficult. Choose the animal and program you want and cull out those that don't measure up. Only then will you end up with a consistent set of animals that you can be proud of and will make you money.

Rod

Hereford Sire I hate to rain on your little parade but I'm far from closeminded and as far as thinking I'm better than others-not hardly. I do however call them as I see them and I might just put some money on the table that I've had a touch more experience on the practical side of ranching than you have. If the thought of a man spanking me gives you pleasure-better seek help sunshine. Like I said before I'm not going to compete in the big BW Hereford market with you so have at it.

NR..