Should you buy the name brand surfactant?

The place to start if you are new!
JWBrahman
GURU
GURU

Should you buy the name brand surfactant?

Post by JWBrahman » Wed May 06, 2015 4:03 am

No. Cheap liquid detergent works just as well.

This experiment has been repeated every year at LSU for decades. We did it in Charlie Johnson's plant propagation class when I was an undergrad. http://www.lsuagcenter.com/en/communica ... hnson1.htm

Detergent, not to be confused with soap, is a surfactant. It works by making water"wetter", allowing it to interact with oil and grease. It breaks down the surface tension, hence the name surfactant. Soap is made from plant and animal fats. Detergents/Surfactants are a petrochemical product.

Surfactant is added to water and herbicide to break down the surface tension of the mixture. There is no difference in doing it with brand name surfactant or dollar store surfactant, the surface tension is still broken.

inyati13
GURU
GURU

Re: Should you buy the name brand surfactant?

Post by inyati13 » Wed May 06, 2015 6:05 am

yep yep. A drop of rain beads on a freshly waxed car. Touch it with a molecule of detergent and it goes as flat as a balloon hit with a pin.
A man's home is his Castle, A man's farm is his Kingdom. Prince Inyati.
Prince of Bright Raven Farm

Caustic Burno
Crusty
Crusty

Post by Caustic Burno » Wed May 06, 2015 6:14 am

"So Why Not Just Use Common Kitchen Soaps and Detergents?

There are very few adjuvant “soaps” on the market today. Most soaps are in bars and are used for bathing. Also, soaps react with cations in soil and fertilizer and can leave a precipitate residue on foliage. Most greenhouse workers remember gray precipitate on foliage resulting from soap residue.

Today, dishwashing liquids contain both anionic and nonionic surfactants. In most circumstances, their combined effects are synergistic and very potent. None are labeled for use on plants.

Natural Surfactants