Greetings from California

Let us know who you are.
Atopete19
Beginner
Beginner

Greetings from California

Post by Atopete19 » Sun Feb 16, 2020 8:44 pm

Evening to all ,
I have no experience in ranching or raising cattle at all . I’ve always been intrigued by the ranching life , but being that I grew up in San Diego I was never around that lifestyle .
My family back in Mexico however , run their own ranch ; so growing up I would go every year and just be fascinated by all the live stock and way they do things .

I’m now 25 y/o , living in Ontario California, I’m a plumber. There is ranch properties around the area I live and in the near future I hope to by some land so I can raise my little family that I have .

I know ranching is a way of life , and a lot of people are born into it . I’m not looking to become a full time rancher and try to become something that takes years of hard work and dedication. However I would like to start small raise my own cattle at some point .

I’ve read and heard about people investing in cattle with local ranchers (buying cattle and working out an agreement with the farmer to keep the cattle until ready to sell) . That idea never even crossed my mind , it’s a good way to support local ranchers and also learn some of the stuff that goes on while raising cattle .
I’m in no way looking for a get rich quick scheme, nor am I looking to rip or get ripped off . I’m a humble guy who wants to learn more and help out others .

I guess what I’m getting too is if anyone wants to give me information on how I can invest in some cattle so I can start gaining some knowledge .

Thank you guys , and again I’m not here to offend anyone in anyway . If what I’m asking for is not allowed please let me know .

sstterry
GURU
GURU

Re: Greetings from California

Post by sstterry » Thu Feb 20, 2020 5:07 am

Welcome! There is tons of information on this board and most are more than willing to help. Make yourself at home.

Redgully
GURU
GURU