New to beef cattle

Let us know who you are.
Ridgetop
Beginner
Beginner

New to beef cattle

Post by Ridgetop » Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:06 pm

Hi, I am new on this site. I have 30 years of experience with sheep, dairy and meat goats, but minimal experience with cattle. We did bottle raise groups of Holstein bull calves on our goat milk to 200 lbs, and sold them at auction. We have never bred, calved, and raised cattle with their moms. We are planning a move to East Texas to a combination coastal hay and cattle operation. We will be raising registered Dorper sheep as well. We had originally planned to lease out the grass and hay field operation on shares, but are now considering hiring the hay cut and baled to winter feed the cows and sheep, keeping a small number of cows ourselves, raising the calves on grass, and selling the calves at 700 lbs. The sheep would be on a rotational graze pasture situation with our guardian dogs. We would sell most of the lambs for meat, retaining the best ewes for the flock or sale as breeding stock.