Did I Go to far ???

Share knowledge or ideas about doing anything and everything.
M-5
GURU
GURU

Did I Go to far ???

Postby M-5 » Mon May 15, 2017 7:38 am

as most of you are aware I have a degree in redneck engineering and have a little mechanical ability and I have been told I should have just fixed it myself. here is the back story

Our local NH dealer is a Echo dealer , last fall while buying parts I mentioned to the counter guy " Ive got an old echo weedeater/ brushcutter hanging under the barn that belonged to my grandfather. I need to get it running again" he said we have an excellent repair guy you should bring it in . I thought about it and said you know they have the carb kits there and since this one is so old I should just let them service it and tune it and maybe get another 30 yrs out of it. so I dropped it off the next week.

I didn't think much about it and a month or so later I was in getting something and asked if it was ready he looked back at the manager office and said no its still sitting there so I said no problem and went my merry way.

About February I was in again and same thing . I said well tell them to hurry up I might need it soon and forgot about it again. last Friday I stopped to buy my hay string for this year and said im gonna pick it up today no matter what.

The counter guy looked for it and after some searching they called me back to the shop. handed me the weedeater and said the tech estimated the repairs would be about 160. to 180 bucks and with that price you would be better off to just buy a new one. I chuckled and said yea well it was a good one and ill just hang it back under the barn.

I loaded my string and got back to the office and I thought Ill see what a kit cost and drop 20 bucks or so in it and then i'll know for sure . when I was getting the serial number I noticed that not a single screw has been turned on it and it pizzed me off that they had just lied to me about the diagnostic test they had done.