Cattle Chute Width?

Share knowledge or ideas about doing anything and everything.
User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Cattle Chute Width?

Postby BK9954 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:44 am

I was reinforcing my loading chutes to accommodate this big bull on getting rid of. The electric pole I was using as a post was so darn big when I put it in I couldn't adjust it once it went in the hole. Turns out it was leaning in and the width of my cattle Chute after the panels are in is only 26 inches wide. My 9 month bread Caw can squeeze through with her sides touching and rubbing you think a 1500 pound Bulls going to go through this. chute? Hate to have to cut this expensive post out but dont want to not have the bull go through. That darn 10 foot post was a beast to lift by myself. I already trimmed the post with a chainsaw some.
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Re: Cattle Chute Width?

Postby BK9954 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:49 am

Image
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

User avatar
RanchMan90
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1192
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:07 pm
Location: Southeast Oklahoma

Re: Cattle Chute Width?

Postby RanchMan90 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:53 am

BK9954 wrote:Image

There's only 1 way to find out. I think it'll work.
0 x
The secret to getting ahead is getting started ~ Mark Twain

User avatar
J&D Cattle
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1797
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:39 pm
Location: Missouri

Re: Cattle Chute Width?

Postby J&D Cattle » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:57 am

Wouldn't bother me a bit. I prefer 28" if I'm building but have sent bigger bulls and cows down narrower.
0 x
J & D Cattle


Return to “Tips 'n Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests