Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Share knowledge or ideas about doing anything and everything.
User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby BK9954 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 12:17 pm

You will have to click on the pictures. Ran high tensile elecric to cross a deep ravine. Had 2 6 ft T post slammed deep to hold it. First big rain it washed them out. 2nd T post is in the creek. The wire naturally is 6 foot across. It is touching the top of the post in the picture. Thinking about puttung 2 T post facing down on each side of the ravine to hold it. Would this work or does anyone have any other ideas. Money is tight.
Image

Image

Image
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

User avatar
Caustic Burno
Crusty
Crusty
Posts: 21364
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: Big Thicket East Texas

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby Caustic Burno » Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:33 pm

Water gap jump the electric over the ditch.
0 x
Grandpa always said never trust a banker,lawyer,preacher or guvmit man. They will steal from widows and orphans.

User avatar
dun
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 46984
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 10:34 am
Location: MO Ozarks

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby dun » Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:34 pm

I would run the wire at the upper ground level and just put a blow out type water gap in the ravine. You know it's gonna blow out every decent rain, why fight it
0 x
"“The more you know, the more you know you don't know.” ― Aristotle

User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby BK9954 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:54 pm

dun wrote:I would run the wire at the upper ground level and just put a blow out type water gap in the ravine. You know it's gonna blow out every decent rain, why fight it

What do you mean? Like a
swinging gate that will swing out every time it rains? With a weaker latch so it doesn't bust the gate? Or cattle panel or something like that? I could comnect is somewhat to that tree, Would have to call the cows in during heavy raining. That ravine almkost runs like a river when I get any substantial rain.
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

User avatar
greybeard
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 14478
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Cleveland Tx

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby greybeard » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:50 pm

Look at Fenceman's fence thread. He has some pictures of a water gap-maybe more than one. Most of them end up being sacrificial at some point, but they'll hold for most rains.
0 x
"For evil to flourish, all that is required is for good men to do nothing" Burke

It ain't easy being a used cow salesman.

User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby BK9954 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:41 pm

Found an old thread, no one is a member anymore but it talks about an electrified water gap using hanging metal rods from a high tensile wire strung above the ravine or water. Says they just swing when debris come through. Anyone ever done this before?
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

talltimber
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1227
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:29 pm
Location: Southeast Missouri

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby talltimber » Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:43 pm

I have done similar to that on one small wash I have. It's about three feet across and about four feet below my hot wire that runs across it. I just straightened a wire section or two with about a three inch 90* bend on the end, put a crimp there and on the main line to hold position, and left the end of vertical wire about a foot above the flowline. No bigger than this wash is, it works fine.
0 x
If you cross the river before, leave a good horse on this side.

User avatar
bbirder
Rancher
Rancher
Posts: 661
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:23 pm
Location: S. Louisiana

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby bbirder » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:21 pm

I've also used something similar on a large ditch my fence line crosses. I put drops from the HT hot line with large (approx 1" ID) flat washers for weights. These stay hot and turn the calves but trash won't hang up on them during high water.
0 x
"A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years. A bad climbing rope will last you a lifetime."

Farm Fence Solutions
Rancher
Rancher
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby Farm Fence Solutions » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:07 am

Not a deep ravine by any means, but same concept none the less.
Image
0 x
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas Edison

jedstivers
GURU
GURU
Posts: 5787
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:32 pm
Location: Marianna Arkansas (East Central)

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby jedstivers » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:13 am

You don't need to electrify the part that's blocking. Keep the hot wire above and out of the water. Make the water gap so it swings.
0 x

User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby BK9954 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:31 am

jedstivers wrote:You don't need to electrify the part that's blocking. Keep the hot wire above and out of the water. Make the water gap so it swings.

Not really too much to attach it to on the other side. The ground is pretty sandy in the wash out. Was either thinking possibly running hot wire hanging down 20 inches above the ground with lead fishing weights that crimp on to hold them down. Those would come off easily if debris caught them. Or just put a flimsy cattle panel chained to the tree secured to the other side by t post made to break away. Cut it out about 2 foot from the ground to allow small debris. But to be honest this ravine is the drain for about 40 acres and some of the county road. Gets logs floating down it sometimes.
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

jedstivers
GURU
GURU
Posts: 5787
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:32 pm
Location: Marianna Arkansas (East Central)

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby jedstivers » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:13 am

BK9954 wrote:
jedstivers wrote:You don't need to electrify the part that's blocking. Keep the hot wire above and out of the water. Make the water gap so it swings.

Not really too much to attach it to on the other side. The ground is pretty sandy in the wash out. Was either thinking possibly running hot wire hanging down 20 inches above the ground with lead fishing weights that crimp on to hold them down. Those would come off easily if debris caught them. Or just put a flimsy cattle panel chained to the tree secured to the other side by t post made to break away. Cut it out about 2 foot from the ground to allow small debris. But to be honest this ravine is the drain for about 40 acres and some of the county road. Gets logs floating down it sometimes.

You'll have to put in a post and brace post. Maybe more than two. Keep bracing till you got it.
0 x

sandhiller
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:50 pm

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby sandhiller » Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:45 pm

Here is what I tried this summer and it is working good. This is crossing a shallow river about 300 yards bank to bank.

I already had a support wire over head {two strands of barbed wire} with wires hanging down to support a electric fence tape. this has lots of drop in so it is strong enough. Been up over 20 years. one end is on a pole, other end is hooked to a post about 50 ft above the river. I previously used electric fence tape supported from this wire. It was often taken out.

This year I strung another barbed wire insulated at both ends and from the support wires. this was just low enough that I could still reach it from standing in the river. From this wire, I tied on pieces of electric fence tape that hang down to about 18 inches above water. the barbs keep these pieces of electric fence tape from sliding on the wire. These are placed about every 10 inches. from a distance, it looks like a wall. when the wind blows, the ends do get high enough that cows could walk under, but they see the tape fluttering in the wind and they already have a healthy education of what that stuff is. they so far have not got through it.
It stayed in all summer, haven't went to look at it, hope I didn't have the tape to close to the water that the ice built up and froze it in. I will be doing 2 more of these next summer.
To support the end of the insulated barbed wire that ends up in the side of a hill, I screwed in one of those screw anchors sold for fence corners.
This is hooked to a 6 joule fencer, so cows have a healthy respect for it.
0 x

User avatar
BK9954
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1270
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:15 pm
Location: Central Texas

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby BK9954 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:29 pm

sandhiller wrote:Here is what I tried this summer and it is working good. This is crossing a shallow river about 300 yards bank to bank.

I already had a support wire over head {two strands of barbed wire} with wires hanging down to support a electric fence tape. this has lots of drop in so it is strong enough. Been up over 20 years. one end is on a pole, other end is hooked to a post about 50 ft above the river. I previously used electric fence tape supported from this wire. It was often taken out.

This year I strung another barbed wire insulated at both ends and from the support wires. this was just low enough that I could still reach it from standing in the river. From this wire, I tied on pieces of electric fence tape that hang down to about 18 inches above water. the barbs keep these pieces of electric fence tape from sliding on the wire. These are placed about every 10 inches. from a distance, it looks like a wall. when the wind blows, the ends do get high enough that cows could walk under, but they see the tape fluttering in the wind and they already have a healthy education of what that stuff is. they so far have not got through it.
It stayed in all summer, haven't went to look at it, hope I didn't have the tape to close to the water that the ice built up and froze it in. I will be doing 2 more of these next summer.
To support the end of the insulated barbed wire that ends up in the side of a hill, I screwed in one of those screw anchors sold for fence corners.
This is hooked to a 6 joule fencer, so cows have a healthy respect for it.

Do you have a picture?
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

ddd75
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am
Location: KY

Re: Running Electric Across Deep Ravine????

Postby ddd75 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:50 am

in my ky hollers that flood like a rushing river.. the only thing that worked good was using an aircraft cable across it, then i just put a cattle panel hanging off the aircraft cable. run the cable through the top of the panel only. that way when the water comes it'll swing out of the way.

sometimes it will collect some debris but 90% of the time everything washed under it. I've never had one taken out and I've had it flood up 7' high and out 70' of the creek.
0 x


Return to “Tips 'n Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pricefarm and 2 guests